Theft in California is generally put in two categories: Petty Theft and Grand Theft. In Grand Theft, the value must amount to $950.00 or greater. If the value is less than $950.00 then it is a petty theft charge. Also, if you stole someone else’s car or firearm, regardless of the value, you will be charged for grand theft. The laws pertaining to theft in California, CA Penal Code 487, are quite complex, and each case is unique so it’s always best to consult with a criminal defense lawyer.